

No.007–26th June 2019 – Abuja, Nigeria

ERERA Regulatory Council members Take Oath of Office

The three members of the Regulatory Council of the ECOWAS Regional Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERERA) have been sworn in by the President of the ECOWAS Community Court of Justice, Honourable Justice Edward Amoako Asante.

Professor Honoré Bogler, Chairman; Mr. Aly Mar Ndiaye, Member, Engineer; and Dr. Haliru Dikko, Member, Economist, took their oath of office before the ECOWAS Council of Ministers at its mid-year statutory meeting on 25th June 2019 at the ECOWAS Commission Headquarters in Abuja.

The ceremony was introduced by the President of the ECOWAS Commission, Mr. Jean-Claude Kassi Brou and led by the Chairman of the Council of Ministers, Ambassador Mustapha Suleiman, who introduced the subject as part of proceedings of the Eighty-Second Ordinary Session of the ECOWAS Council of Ministers.

The swearing-in was held in accordance with ECOWAS provisions defining the composition, organization, functions and operation of ERERA, which prescribe that, "on assumption of office, at the session of the Council of Ministers, each Member of the Regulatory Council shall take an oath, which shall be administered by the President of the Community Court of Justice..."

The ceremony also served to regularize the appointments of the members of the ERERA Regulatory Council, who assumed duty in 2016 and 2017.

According to Professor Bogler, this means the Regulatory Council is now better positioned to play its role as rule maker and supervisor of the Regional Electricity Market and in readiness for the commencement of the second phase expected in 2020.

The Regional Electricity Market is planned in three phases. The first phase which was launched in June 2018, is transitional and will last for two years before the commencement

of the second phase which will add a competitive market to the existing bilateral agreements..

As a long-term vision, the third phase is dependent on the availability of adequate regional transmission capacity and enough generation reserve in Member States.

Published by: Department of Communication, ECOWAS Regional Electricity Regulatory Authority Publié par: Le Département de la Communication, Autorité de Régulation Régionale du Secteur de l'Électricité de la CEDEAO Energy Commission Building, Ghana Airways Avenue, Airport Residential Area, PMB 76 Ministries Post Office, Accra, Ghana Tel: (233) 0302 817 049 Fax: (233) 0302 817 050 E-mail: info@erera.arrec.org